Casting Your Vote Matters

index

You might be wondering why I am tackling the upcoming election on a platform that I usually reserve for topics such as motherhood, encouragement, and faith.  What does voting have to do with these things?  In a word – everything.

Tomorrow’s election matters.  Whether or not we vote matters.  I’m not going to tell you how to vote or who to vote for.  I’m just explaining that it is, indeed, important to get up, get out, and go vote.

As a parent, I have come to realize that the way I parent and raise my children has a correlation to election results.  When I plan to talk to my kids about certain issues and what I tell them is all impacted by the choices voters make. There are certain things that I didn’t think would be put in motion until much later in my life, but are happening now as a direct result of voting. I have to have these important conversations with my children and prepare them to grow up in a world that looks different than it did during my childhood.

In the roughly ten years that I have been eligible to cast my vote, I have seen incredible changes in our country.  We, as a nation, are now more concerned with whether or not our food is raised on a free-range farm than protecting the life of the unborn.  We worship at the altar of tolerance without cause or concern for whether that which we are tolerant of is even moral or Biblical.  We are more apt to vote for our favorite contestant on ‘American Idol’ then a candidate who will make political decisions on our behalf for the next several years. In the name of political correctness, we can barely pray in a public forum or disagree with a viewpoint that differs from ours for fear that someone will be offended.  You can take God’s name in vain all day long, but pray to Him and you’ll be ripped up and down.  We need to take a stand to stop this madness.

Now, I am just as jaded as the next person when it comes to our politicians.  I sigh and roll my eyes when yet another political scandal is front page news.  I don’t think that, as a group, politicians are trustworthy.  But, I can’t sit back and complain if I am not willing to do my part.  Our country gives us the opportunity to make our voice heard every once in a while and we need to take advantage of that.

Be informed.  While I was standing in line to vote during the 2008 Presidential election, I was behind a college-age girl who was saying that she was definitely voting for Obama.  Her friend asked her what she thought about Biden and her response was, “What’s a Biden?”  I stood there, mouth agape, trying to hold myself back from throwing her out of the line.  If you don’t even know who the candidates are then you are not doing your country any favors.  Your information should not come from political attack ads, either.  Do some research so that you can feel confident when you walk into that voting booth.

How do I decide which candidate deserves my vote?  I educate myself on the issues and then I go straight to the Bible.  What does God’s Word say about these issues?  Because I believe that the Bible is The Truth, all of my decisions – even those I endorse for political office – are based off of this written word.

As the election results pour in, we have to trust that we have done our part and know that God will do the rest.  In church, we discussed that the government has been established by God.  And, yes, there are times when God allows poor leaders to take office as a direct result of what the people deserve. In this day and age it doesn’t seem like we deserve that much, does it? No matter what the outcome, we are to obey those in authority over us unless they are in direct contradiction to God’s Word.

“Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established.  The authorities that exist have been established by God.  Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. 

Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also because of conscience.”

Romans 13:1-2, 5

I have been disappointed in many elections as of late.  But it is comforting to know that God’s hand is in all of it.  No matter if the candidates that I endorse enter the office or not, it is still my responsibility to pray for those elected.  Other than casting my vote, praying is the other thing that I have control over.  We are setting up the future of our country for our children.  What do I want the nation to look like for my sons?  What freedoms will they have or not have as a result of these elections?

Consider these things and get out the vote!

2 thoughts on “Casting Your Vote Matters

Leave a Reply

